Day 2

Below freezing when we woke. About -2C

Collected the van and ditched hire car. Van very squashy first impressions and realise we need to have minimal luggage. Also poorly fitted out in terms of space and pockets to hold “stuff”. However on our way.  Late start leaving Adelaide about 12.30. Drove all the way to Wilpena Pound.  About 500km. Car goes well on road. Arrived at campsite !!!!! Horrors me +camping not a happy combination. Charles , Rhiannon, and Caitlin arrived after us and we met at camp office Sandwiched ourselves into last campsite with power. About 2 degreesC as we cooked dinner on our two plate stove. Caravan with crying baby on one side. . Baby clearly did not want to be there, was cold, uncomfortable and wondering if he made enough noise if he would be taken home. It worked for Sarah once so I wonder if it may work for me? Sadly not

Talisker whiskey liberally poured for me by Willy in an attempt to give me some strength. He too is not really a camper – as much as he would like to think he can do it.

Dinner of lamb tagine a la Coles eaten and bed. Climbed up to the sleeping platform.

  1. It is so narrow that two pillows cannot be laid out side by side.
  2. The sleeping bags are summer weight
  3. I am already so cold that my teeth are chattering.
  4. I am NOT going to the ablution block yet. I have no doubt I will when I have gone a little more feral than I am now. But not yet.

Slither in and shimmy up the platform to my allocated 45cm

Willy asleep and snoring within seconds. I get progressively colder, put on my down jacket,track pants,and hood . Finally go to  sleep

sleep. Image

Leave a comment